The Great Wedding Cake Adventure

Back in the dark days of unemployment I can across Smitten Kitchen’s series of blogs about her first adventure in wedding cake baking.  I was intrigued and excited, so when my best friend got engaged I asked if I could make the cake.  I didn’t really believe that she would let me, but she agreed.

Flash forward about a year later, and I was fully employed.  I still wanted to make the cake though, and tried out a few different cake and flavor combinations.  I thought we had decided on this one but then my friend called a week before we were going to fly back for the wedding and told me that her wedding had a much more Fall theme, and asked if I would mind making just plain yellow cake with vanilla frosting.  I did mind.   Not about the late change so much, but yellow cake with vanilla frosting just sounded so boring to me.  So I told her I would test it out and see what I came up with.

So I did some googling, and some consulting with some food blogs.  My friend was also having caramel apples and cinnamon roll cupcakes at the wedding.  I combined those flavors in my searching and came up with the idea to add a filling of apple cinnamon compote between the layers of the cake.  I was very pleased with myself for coming up with the idea to tie the cake to everything else, and still keep it simple but interesting.

I didn’t really alter any recipes, just pulled from different food blogs.  I borrowed Smitten Kitchen’s recipe for the yellow cake (here) and the recipe for swiss buttercream frosting she used for her wedding cake (found here).  The apple filling I found on this blog, and altered just slightly.  For the full wedding cake I multiplied it by 5.

Below is the recipe for the apple filling, as well as some pictures of the swiss buttercream preparation and cake assembly.  These are from the test cake, which was a two layer 8 inch round cake.  For the wedding cake I did two 12 inch layers on the bottom and two 8 inch layers on the top.  I ended up making 2 1/2 recipes of the cake batter, and using 12 egg whites in the frosting.  I had great intentions of taking lots of pictures of the actual process of making the wedding cake, but it turns out that it demands my full focus to make a wedding cake.  Who would have thought?!  I did have fun though, even though I was exhausted by the end.  I do think I could be persuaded to make a wedding cake again in the future.

Apple Cinnamon Filling

2 large granny smith apples
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon butter
Peel the apples and grate with a box grater. Combine all the ingredients in a saucepan and cook until the apples are tender and there is little liquid left. Cool completely.
Leave a Reply

