Crock Pot applesauce

Applesauce is one of my favorite foods.  A while back I posted a recipe for Ina Garten’s oven roasted applesauce, which was very good.  But I had to roast it in the ceramic part of my crock pot because I don’t own a dutch oven.  And I thought to myself that day that applesauce in the crock pot must work.  So I finally tried it, and it’s awesome!  You get an easy, fuss-free applesauce that comes out with caramel undertones from the long cooking time.  I started with pretty sweet apples, so the long cooking time highlights the natural sweetness of the apples so you don’t even need to add any extra sugar.

Crock Pot applesauce
8 apples, peeled and cut in the about 1 inch pieces
3/4 cup of water
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Toss everything together in the crock pot.  Cover and cook on low for about 5 hours.

Once the apples are really soft, mix with a spoon to break them up.  It’s that easy!

I love eating the leftovers the next morning for breakfast with a croissant.

One thought on “Crock Pot applesauce

Leave a Reply

