Quick Focaccia Bread

I suffered a blogging set back this past week.  My laptop, with my camera memory card in it, was stolen.  Which means all the pictures of things I’ve made in the past are gone.  I had saved up a few things that I hadn’t gotten around to posting yet, but I guess I’ll have to start over now.  I got an I-pad to replace my stolen laptop, and these are the first baking pictures I’ve tried with it.  It’s got a pretty good camera, so maybe my new toy will help motivate me to keep blogging.

For Christmas my mom got me a pretty awesome cookbook called The Bread Bible.  I wanted to try one of the recipes from it for dinner last night, but in my usual fashion, I failed to pay enough attention to the time required to make the focaccia recipe (5 hours!).  So I had to improvise, and used my trusty pizza dough instead of an actual focaccia dough.  Although slightly different than an actual focaccia, it makes a very satisfying bread to go alongside pasta, and does a nice job of soaking up any left over sauce.

Garlicy Focaccia Bread
1 recipe pizza dough
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 teaspoon dried basil, or 5-10 fresh leaves, chopped
1-2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Make the pizza dough and allow it to rise for 30 minutes.  Meanwhile, spray a 1/2 sheet pan with cooking spay and set aside.  Once the dough has risen, place it in the pan and push and pull the dough until it is roughly fills the whole pan.  Set the pan in a warm place and let the dough rise again, about 30 minutes, or as long as you feel like waiting.

Preheat the oven to 500.  Brush the bread with one tablespoon of olive and that garlic.  If you are using dry basil, sprinkle it on, as well as 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt.  If you are using fresh basil, wait until the last minute or two of baking to put it on.

Bake for 10-15 minutes, until the bottom is brown and crispy, and the top is light golden.  Once you take it out of the oven, brush with the last tablespoon of olive oil and sprinkle with grated parmesan cheese (omit if you want vegan bread).

Leave a Reply

