Turkey Stock

We took a break from vegetarianism for Thanksgiving, mainly because I hosted not one but two Thanksgiving dinners and we were the only vegetarians out of 20 or so people.  But I figured if I was going to buy turkeys, I might as well use as much of it as possible.  Many of you might still have well picked over turkey carcasses in your fridge, and this is a great way to use up every last bit and go ahead and make a little more space in your fridge.

Turkey Stock
1 turkey carcass, with most of the meat removed
1 large onion
2 large carrots
3 celery stalks
1 clove garlic, smashed
10 sprigs of thyme
1 tablespoon salt
1 teaspoon peppercorns
1 bay leaf

Chop the vegetables in to large pieces.  You don’t need to worry about peeling them, just make sure they are nice and clean.  Place all the ingredients in a large pot and add enough water to cover everything by about an inch.  My large stock pot has a pasta insert, so I used the pasta insert, which made removing the turkey and veggies a cinch when the stock was finished.  Simmer the stock for three hours on low.  Strain the stock to remove the veggies, turkey, and spices – see how this can become much easier if you have a pasta insert?

After three hours I found my stock to still be a little weak – probably because I had to add more water to cover the veggies with the pasta insert – so I simmered mine for a while longer to reduce the stock and concentrate the flavor.  I think mine cooked for six hours total.  This seems like a long time, and a day killer, but it requires very little attention.  I think I went for a walk, took a bike ride, and ran to the store throughout the say and just left the stock on low.

When my stock was finished, I used some as the base for turkey noodle soup for dinner, stuck some in the fridge to use in risotto later this week, and measured out several bags to freeze.

 

Leave a Reply

