Easy Yeast Dough and Pecan Sticky Buns

I took another cookbook out of the library this week.  This one is called Endangered Recipes by Lari Robling.  The name was enough to catch my eye, but I was convinced to take it home when I came across a recipe for making apple butter in the crock pot.  We I got home and flipped through the book, I decided to try the easy yeast dough recipe first.  I’m trying to cut back on my sweets, so I’m working on my bread making skills instead.  Also, I bought a two pound bag of yeast at the store because it was on sale, so I’ve got a lot to work through.  I originally made this dough to turn it in to Parker House Rolls, which is another recipe in the book.  But then, after I had made the dough, I turned to the recipe for Parker House Rolls and found out it only required half of the dough.  And right below there was a helpful hint, telling me that I could turn the other half of the dough into sticky buns, and that I could find the recipe if I just turned a few pages.  And, so, well, my plan for less sweets had to be delayed until we finished these sticky buns!

Easy Yeast Dough
2 cups lukewarm water (105-115 degrees F)
2 packages active dry yeast (1/4 ounce each), or 4 1/2 teaspoons
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons butter, cut in pieces
1 tablespoon, plus 1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs, beaten
7 cups flour (the recipe calls for bread flour, but I only had all purpose, which seemed to work out fine)

In a small bowl combine 1/2 cup warm water and yeast

In a separate bowl, add the sugar, butter, and salt to the remaining 1 1/2 cups water.  Stir to melt the butter and combine the butter.  Add the yeast mixture and the eggs and mix.

Beat 2 cups of flour into the wet ingredients.  You can either use a hand held mixer, or a stand mixer with the dough hook.

If using a hand held mixer, switch to a wooden spoon at this point.  Gradually add in 3 more cups of flour, one handful at a time.  Turn out onto a board and knead for 10 minutes, adding 1 1/2 to 2 more cups of flour 1/4 cup at a time.

If you are using a stand mixer (which is what I did), leave the mixer on low with the dough hook attached, and set a timer for 10 minutes.  Gradually add 4 1/2 – 5 cups of flour, scraping down the sides occasionally.  After 10 minutes, turn out onto a board and knead a few times until you have a smooth ball.

Place the dough in a greased bowl.  Cover and allow to rise in a warm spot until doubled in size, about 1 hour.

At this point I divided the dough in half.  As I mentioned above, half became rolls and the other half became these sticky buns, which were soooo gooey and yummy.

Sticky Buns
1/2 recipe easy yeast dough
1 stick butter (4 ounces), plus 1 tablespoon, melted
1 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup light corn syrup
3/4 cup toasted pecans
1 tablespoon cinnamon

Spray a deep pan with nonstick cooking spray.  I used a 9 x 13 casserole dish, which fit 12 rolls nicely.  Set aside.

In a large saucepan, bring the stick of butter, brown sugar, and corn syrup to a boil.  Cook over medium heat for a minute, until the butter is melted and the sugar is dissolved to form a smooth syrup.

Pour into the prepared pan, and spread the pecans evenly over the bottom.  Set aside.

Roll the dough out into a large rectangle.  Brush 1 tablespoon melted butter over the top.  Sprinkle the cinnamon evenly over the butter.

Roll the dough up along the long side.  Pinch the ends and seam closed.  Slice into 1 – 1 1/2 inch rounds and lay cut side down in the pan.  At this point I covered mine and left them in the fridge overnight.  This worked out really well because they were about to have a slow second rise to get large and fluffy, and made for a fast breakfast treat in the morning.  You could also bake them right away if its just too tempting.

Bake in a 375 degree oven for 25-30 minutes, or until light brown on top.  Allow to cool in the pan for 15 minutes, and then invert to serve.

2 thoughts on “Easy Yeast Dough and Pecan Sticky Buns

Leave a Reply

