Coffee Ice Cream

When I checked out the Baked Explorations cookbook, I flipped through it and marked a few recipes that I wanted to make and challenged myself to see how many I could make during my three week check-out period.  The book is due back tomorrow, and I have a few more recipes to share, so here’s another one.

Coffee Ice Cream
6 egg yolks
1 2/3 cups heavy cream
2 cups milk
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt*
3 tablespoons instant espresso powder
1 tablespoon Kahlua (or vanilla)

Separate the eggs, placing the yolks in a large heatproof bowl and putting the whites away for another use.

In a medium saucepan, combine the cream, milk, sugar, salt, and espresso powder. I found the original recipe to salty; I would recommend cutting it down to 1/2 a teaspoon.*  Over low to medium low heat, bring the mixture to a steady simmer and then remove from the heat.

Whisk the egg yolks until just combined, then slowly pour in one cup of the hot cream mixture, whisking the while time.  It’s important to whisk the entire time because otherwise you’ll end up with little bit of scrambled eggs in your ice cream.  Add the now warm egg mixture back in to the cream mixture.  Heat over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until it’s thick enough to coat the back of a spoon (or until it reaches 175 degrees on a thermometer).

Remove from the heat, and strain through a fine mesh sieve into a bowl.

Whisk in the Kahlua, or vanilla.  Place a piece of plastic wrap directly on the surface of the mixture.  This prevents a film from forming on the top as the mixture cools. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours.

Freeze per the directions on your ice cream machine.

Now, this makes a fine ice cream, but as I said, I found it a bit too salty.  So I decided to counter the saltiness with a little bit of chocolate.  I turned them in to ice cream pops, topped with dark chocolate ganache and pecan pieces!  Yum!

Leave a Reply

