Brown Bag Inspiration – Salads

Brown Bag ChallengeWe’re teaming up with fellow food bloggers to host a Brown-Bag Challenge, a month-long initiative to eat consciously and save money by packing a lunch each weekday instead of eating out. Join us here and share what you’re eating on Facebook and Twitter with the hashtag #brownbag.

We’re on to week two of the Brown Bag Challenge so I thought I’d share a few lunch ideas.  I usually try to keep a bad of salad greens in the house, which makes for a very quick, easy, and healthy lunch option.  I always forget how much I like salads until I have a good one.  If you load up a salad with enough stuff it can make a great lunch or can at least play a strong supporting role.  I tend to think of salads as either sweet or savory.  So, here are some things that I keep around the house that I’ll often throw in to make a salad.  I usually mix and match along either sweet or savory lines until I feel like I have enough stuff in my salad to make it interesting.

Savory
tomato
bell pepper
onion
carrots (shaved, sliced, or chopped)
pan fried tofu
avocado
canned chick peas or black beans
feta cheese
celery
lentils
walnuts

Sweet
strawberries
blueberries
apple slices
walnuts
dried cranberries
pear slices
goat cheese
avocado
orange slices
almonds

Now, this is by no means an exhaustive list of what can go in a salad.  But I find sometimes it helps spark the imagination to see what other people use.  It also helps motivate me to eat more salad if I have a couple interesting dressings in the fridge (currently I have raspberry vinaigrette and cilantro lime).  What’s your favorite salad combination?

Leave a Reply

